For full functionality of this site, it is necessary to enable Javascript. Here are the instructions how to enable Javascript in your web browser.

2017 Marks Twentieth Anniversary of Establishment of Vera Jackson Scholarship Fund

June 12, 2017

The Vera Jackson Scholarship Program has reached a significant milestone! The fund provides room & board college scholarships to deserving students in the North Georgia area. Since 1997, 130 students from Fannin, Union, Towns, and Lumpkin counties have received the Vera Jackson Scholarship. Upon graduating from college, many scholarship recipients have returned to live and work in the north Georgia area. Others have settled elsewhere in Georgia and still others have moved around the country.

Terry Hartman, Director of the Vera Jackson Scholarship Program said "As we celebrate the 20th anniversary of the program, I was honored to present the award at Lumpkin County High School to Ariel Brooks Alexander. Ariel was class president and her ambitions include going to law school and becoming a District Attorney.  The school’s awards ceremony was well attended, very patriotic and focused on the students and their many awards. It did my heart good to witness the strong support for the Vera Jackson Scholarship Program at Lumpkin."

Last month, one of our current Vera Jackson scholars and Fannin County High School graduate, Noah Griggs, presented the 2017 Vera Jackson Scholarship award to Jeffrey Whitmire at the Fannin County Awards Ceremony.

Noah Griggs_Jeffrey Whitmire- Fannin Awards Night- 5-2017